St Declan's College

Students’ Council

Students’ Council

The Students’ Council represents the voice of the student body and is one of the elements of partnership within the school between staff, parents, students and the board of management. The School Captain is chairman of the student council. He, together with the other officers on the council, is appointed to this position by the principal. Generally, these officers will be drawn from the prefect body and will be sixth year students.
Junior cycle students (1st, 2nd & 3rd year) are represented by the officers. Students in each of the transition year and fifth year classes hold elections to select a representative.

At the start of each year, following discussion and in consultation with the principal, a body of work is agreed by the membership. The student council meets once a week during lunchtime and on other occasions as deemed necessary to plan how to implement this work. The principal sits in on these meetings. Other matters may be brought to the council for their input such as the development of school policies. It is an ideal forum for students to be proactive in influencing the development of the school and an excellent opportunity for them to nurture skills in negotiation and consultation.

Student Council 2015 – 2016

Captain: Seán Dunican

Vice Captains: Gavin Doyle
Brian McDonnell

Treasurer: Michael O’Rourke

Secretary: Kevin Boland

P.R.O. Aaron Fox

IT Aidan Byrne

Music: Conor Maddock

1st year rep: Seamus Ashton
2nd year rep: Seán Macken
3rd year rep: Andrew Morrison

ERST rep: David Phelan

5th year & TY representatives:
Kevin Burke Georjis Tokarevs
Gary Kearney Ryan O’Rourke
David Langan Conor Kelly

21 Dec 2019
Christmas 2019
06 Jan 2020
School reopening
15 Jan 2020
Staff meeting
St Declan's College,
Nephin Road,

01 838 0357

Edmund Rice
© 2019 St Declan's College